Yara 2020

Hi everyone!  Let me introduce myself.  I’m Yara.  I’m a sweet girl looking for her forever home.  I am a bit overweight but am working on it. Foster mom and dad are making sure I eat just enough and take me for multiple walks per day.  My stamina is increasing, and my pace is getting faster, but I’m still not going to win any races.  If you are looking for a dog to take on a moderately paced walk, I’m your girl.  If you are looking for a running buddy, I’m not the right dog for you.

Since arriving at my foster home, I have lost weight, but still have more to go.  My energy level has gone up and I’m getting more playful as my weight goes down.  I don’t have any interest in toys, and I haven’t played with the dogs in the house yet, but foster mom and dad thinks as my weight continues to decrease, I will get more playful.  I really like having other dogs around though.  I hope my new home has another dog.

I am friendly, but it takes me a little while to get used to people.  I will let people pet me and my nub wags, but I won’t cuddle or stay close until I really get to know someone.  I like having other dogs around because they make me feel more comfortable, especially in new situations.

I haven’t had to stay without my foster mom and dad much; foster mom works from home.  When they have both been gone, I can stay in the house free to roam, just like my foster siblings.  I don’t get into anything I shouldn’t.  We have this cool thing called a doggie door, so even when we are home alone, we can go outside.  I love being outside and just laying in the sun.  I hope my new home has a fenced yard so I can be outside and relax.

So what do you think?  Do I sound like your type of girl?  If so, tell the nice people at BRBR that you want me, Yara!

  • Breed: Boxer
  • Sex: F
  • Age: 4 Years
  • Weight: 75 lbs
  • HW Status: Negative
  • Tail: Nub
  • Ears: Natural
  • Spay/Neuter: Spayed
  • Good with male dogs: Yes
  • Good with female dogs: Yes
  • Good with small dogs: Unknown
  • Good with cats: Unknown
  • Good with children: Unknown, but most likely yes
  • Energy Level scale 1-9 (sleepy –energetic): 4
  • Intelligence scale 1-9 (silly-genius): 6
  • Friendliness scale 1-9 (aggressive-affectionate): 9
  • Playfulness scale 1-9 (not playful-very playful): 3
  • Disposition scale 1-9 (anxious-calm): 5
  • Nicknames: YarYar