Richie

Hey everybody, I’ve been living with my foster mom and dad for almost a year now. I’ve seen 2 of my foster brothers find their fur-ever homes but not me. I have my paws crossed that my turn is next.

I get along great with my foster sisters well. We love to wrestle non-stop and they are good at handling me which is good because I do play a little ruff. When I do get a warning from them I back off quick. I just want to play. When I get really wound up I turn into my alter –ego “Ricochet Richie” and circle the living, kitchen and dining room at full speed. It’s a sight to see!

I do have a lot of energy but not in the morning. When my foster parents wake up and start getting ready for work, they practically have to drag me out of the crate, usually I just jump straight to the bed and lie back down. I do have my morning routine down though. Go out for potty, eat, go back out and then I trot back into my crate for my morning nap. After dinner I have some wide open time and then end up crashing on the couch. I’m good at going back to bed in the crate for bedtime.

I sit really well, and lie down pretty well. I actually do really well on walks too. One trainer said I am extremely smart but also a bit stubborn. I just had another session that should help me smooth out some rough edges. Unfortunately I don’t do well with adoption events because there are just too many things going on, dogs, people, lots of activity and sounds. This new trainer is helping foster mom & dad with ways to help me with that.

Everyone comments how adorable I am I just need a few things. I need a home with a strong leader and an active family. There needs to be a good fence which is secure, I love a challenge. I’d love a playmate who like to wrestle and is willing to share toys. Will you be my perfect home?
Weight:
HW Status: neg
Energy Level scale 1-9 (sleepy –energetic): 9
Intelligence scale 1-9 (silly-genius): 8
Friendliness scale 1-9 (aggressive-affectionate): 8
Playfulness scale 1-9 (not playful-very playful): 8
Disposition scale 1-9 (anxious-calm)6
Nicknames:
Favorite food/toy/treats: loves tennis balls, kongs, anything squeaky and shoes (not good)
Must be in a home that has the following:
Is a fence necessary or is leashed exercise sufficient?: Fenced would be better but need to have at least 5-6’ can jump a 4’. Also must be secure at base. He is a sneaky one.
Medical issues: none
Needs work on: Richie has gotten much better about calming down. He needs to work on not immediately darting out/taking off.